Honor Roll of Trailblazer Awardees


2016 Awardee
Marilyn McCormick, began teaching English and speech at Cass Tech in 1977 and began supervising the school’s drama department in 1979.  Over the years, she has seen former students go on to work on the stage and in movies and TV.

2015 Awardee
Tyrone Winfrey, acting Ombudsman for the EAA and former Associate Director in the Office of Undergraduate Admissions.  Tyrone is a champion of directing students to that next dimension of education, an educator who has made the difference in many students lives.

2014 Awardee
Cyndi C. Payne, Created a Community Mentoring Program

2013 Awardee
DeLisle Horton-Willis, Educator for the Detroit Public Schools

2012 Awardee
Robin Doreen Glover, Ford Motor Company Executive

2011 Awardee
Gwen Hail, CEO of Hail Construstion

Charlie Grant, President of ABC Student Transportation

2010 Awardee
Doris Taylor Walls, Retired Guidance & Curriculum Administrator, Cass Technical High School

2009 Awardee
Donna L. Murphy, Vice President of Charter One Bank Community

2008 Awardee
John Ambrose, Dean of Students Marygrove College

2007 Awardees
David Gamlin, Sr, New Detroit, Developer Entrepreneurship Program
Stephanie Jones, Consultant & Founder of Alumni Arise Program for Cass Tech H.S.

2006 Awardees
Kisha Murray-Dread, Podiatric
Henry R. Sheppard, Mentor Kappa Alpha Psi Kappa Teens
Rosetta Bailey, Social Worker

2005 Awardees
Renee Fluker, Founder & Executive Director of “Midnight Golf Program”
Marilyn G. McCormick, Performing Arts Teacher

2004 1st Annual Trailblazer Awardees
Alicia Thornwell-Autry, Assistant Vice President, Banking, Comerica
Jeron T. Campbell, Founder of Campbell Academic Services
Dana Davidson, English Teacher & Author of Teen Novels
Holly Gilmer-Hill, Pediatric Neurosurgeon
Jermaine A. Wyrick, Attorney